Dogboe, Partey, Abbey Honoured At 2018 SWAG Awards

Newly crowned WBO Super Bantamweight Champion, Isaac “Royal Storm” Dogboe is the 2018 Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Personality of the Year.
The 43rd edition of the prestigious and longest running sports event in Ghana rewarded athletes, administrators and well-wishers who have excelled across all disciplines in the previous sports season.
Dogboe, before the crowning moment had won the Professional Boxer of the Year gong ahead of Duke Micah (WBC International Bantamweight Champion).
Atletico Madrid’s Thomas Partey picked up the Footballer of the Year honour beating off competition from Daniel Nii Adjei (TP Mazembe, DRC/Wydad Casablanca, Morocco), Christian Atsu (Newcastle, England) and Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia/Jiangsu Suning, China).
Former Accra Hearts of Oak skipper, Thomas Abbey was awarded for his stellar performances on the local scene last season, as the now Ismaily player was adjudged the Local Footballer of the Year.
The 2018 SWAG Awards held at the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC), was well attended by football dignitaries, with Osagyefo Oseadeyo Agyemang Badu II, the Paramount Chief of Dormaa Traditional Area, as the Special Guest of Honour.
Below is a full list of winners:
Haruna Tahiru – Para Athlete of the Year. (Armwrestling)
Alhassan Okine – Kickboxer of the Year.
Anthony Boafo Danquah Boakye – Cyclist of the Year
Richard Amanor – Volleyball Player of the Year
Grace Atipaka – Female Badminton Player of the Year
Emmanuel Yaw Donkor – Male Badminton player
Vincent Torgah – Golfer of the Year.
Salia Nsabila – Hockey Player of the Year
Christian Amoah – Weightlifter of the Year
George Bankole (Handball) – Dedication & Valour
Ofori Asare (Boxing) – Dedication & Valour
Suzzy Dede Teye (Lady Strikers/ Black Maidens) – Discovery of the Year
David Akwei (weightlifter) – Discovery of the Year
Isaac Nii Amugi (Armwrestler) – Discovery of the Year
Ampem Darkoa Ladies – Female Team of the Year
Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor – Special Awards
Alex Asante – Special Awards
Dr KD Asante – Special Awards
Dr Martin Engman – Special Awards
Dr Paa Kwesi Ndoum – Special Awards
David Abagna (Wa All Stars)- Most Promising Star
Herbert Mensah (Rugby) – Association President of the Year
Yusif Abubakar (Aduana Stars) – Coach of the Year
Local Black Stars – National Team of the Year
Isaac Dogboe – Professional Boxer of the Year
Priscilla Adubea (Ampem Darkoa) – Female Footballer of the Year
Thomas Abbey (Hearts of Oak) – Local Male Footballer of the Year
Thomas Partey – Foreign Based Male Footballer of the Year
Aduana Stars – Male Club of the Year
Isaac Dogboe – Sports Personality of the Year
This year’s awards coincide with activities of the 50th Anniversary Celebration of SWAG which was founded in 1968.
Evans Ofotsu

You may also like...

Translate to your language here »